Defending the Rights Of Minors in Drunk Driving Cases
If you are under the age of 21 and have been charged with a DWI in Kerrville, Fredericksburg, San Angelo or elsewhere, you have a lot at stake: your freedom, your reputation and your future may be on the line. You want an experienced DWI defense attorney who is intimately familiar with the zero-tolerance laws that govern minors in drunk driving cases.
At Danford Law Firm, PLLC, in Kerrville, our services bring more than 20 years of criminal law experience to individuals, including minors, who have been charged with drunk driving. A former prosecutor, attorney Harold Danford is the only prior director of the Texas Department of Public Safety’s DWI/ALR program who now dedicates his practice to DWI defense. Mr. Danford and attorney Thomas J. Hurt offer clients extensive trial experience and have taken hundreds of DWI cases to court. It is their practice to prepare every case from inception as if they expect it to go to trial.
Texas Has a Zero-Tolerance Policy
The state of Texas takes a very serious approach to cases involving drunk driving by minors, with a zero-tolerance law governing these types of offenses. If you are younger than 21 and are found to be driving with any detectable trace of alcohol in your system, you can be charged with a DWI. Your first offense can lead to a fine of up to $500, an order of community service, mandatory attendance at an alcohol awareness course and the suspension of your driving privileges for up to four months. Repeat offenses could even result in incarceration.